We have 24 guests online
All America City Nomination PDF Print E-mail
Finalists Announced for All-America City Award
Denver, Colorado--The National Civic League announced the finalists for the 2010 All-America City Awards, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious civic recognition award.
“These are some of the most innovative communities in the country,” notes National Civic League President Gloria Rubio-Cortes. “They give us hope and inspiration and teach us important lessons about leveraging the civic energy of ordinary people to address difficult challenges during some very tough economic times.”
The 2010 All-America City finalists are addressing such issues as:
  • Diversifying the labor force
  • Providing affordable housing options in a tough economy
  • Funding basic services to people of need in the recession
  • Increasing tax base to fund schools
  • Transitioning to a more diverse workforce
  • Providing cold weather shelter for the increased numbers of homeless
  • Overcoming financial hurdles to serve the needs of youth
Listed alphabetically by state, the 2010 All-America City finalists:
Chandler, AZ; Bentonville, AR; Dublin, CA; Lynwood, CA; Rancho Cordova, CA; Vernon Central (neighborhood) CA; Miami Lakes, FL; North Miami. FL; Acworth, GA; Belleville, IL; Canton, IL; Noblesville, IN; Des Moines, IA; Lenexa, KS; Scott County, KS; Bowling Green, KY; Salisbury, MD; Ferguson, MO; Riverside, MO; Lynbrook, NY; Gastonia, NC; West Chester, OH; Wyoming, OH; Mount Pleasant, SC; El Paso, TX; Abingdon, VA; Middleton, Wisconsin.
To become a finalist, each participant completed an application documenting three community projects that address their communities’ most pressing challenges. More than 500 communities from around the country have earned this distinguished title.  Some have earned it five times over the past 61 years. Each community will send a delegation to Kansas City to tell their stories of positive community change to a jury of civic experts. The ten All-America Cities will be announced on June 18.
Learn more about the award program and follow events leading up to the Kansas City event on our new All-America City blog at www.allamericacityaward.com.  For more information, contact This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it at the National Civic League, 303 571 4343.
The All-America City Awards program is sponsored by Prudential, MWH, Hyatt Regency Crown Center, Southern California Edison, Burns & McDonnell, Pforzheimer Foundation, and Southwest Airlines, the official airline of the All-America City Awards.
NCL is a 116-year-old nonpartisan nonprofit organization that strengthens democracy by increasing the capacity of our nation’s people to fully participate in and build healthy and prosperous communities across America.

Chandler Real Estate | Queen Creek Real Estate | Mesa Arizona Real Estate